William T. Nallia Award

2023 Recipient

2023 William T. Nallia Award
Renee Shaw, KET 

Other Leadership Awards

Administrator of the Year

Distinguished Service Award

Wanda Luttrell Office Professional Award

Fred Award  

Superintendent of the Year Award

The KASA board of directors presents the award annually to an education leader who reflects a spirit of innovation and cutting edge leadership while bringing higher levels of success and learning to all children.

The award is named in honor of Mr. William T. Nallia, a KASA executive director from 1975-1986. Under his leadership, the organization experienced tremendous growth and remained at the forefront of innovation in public education in Kentucky.

Year Recipient
2023 Renee Shaw, KET
2022 Ed Massey, State Representative
2021 Julian Tackett, KHSAA
2020 Kevin Brown, KY Department of Education
2019 KY Center for School Safety (Jon Akers)
2018 Robert "Beau" Barnes, Teachers' Retirement System
2017 David Couch, KY Department of Education
2016 Bob Chenoweth, Dean, KY's School Law Practitioners
Roger Marcum, Chairman, KY Board of Education
2015 Dr. Justin Bathon, Ph.D., University of KY
Stu Silberman, Prichard Committee
2014 Cindy Heine, Prichard Committee
2013 Mike Carr, EPSB
2012 Phil Rogers, EPSB
2011 Julia Roberts for the Gatton Academy
2010 Dr. Christopher Wagner, Western Kentucky University
Ms. Rhonda Sims, KY Department of Education

Dr. Angela Wilkins

Dr. Bob Wagoner

2008 Dr. Jack Rose, Murray State University
2007 Steve Kimberling

Dr. Bill Braden, KCA

Gene Wilhoit, Former Commissioner of Education
2005 Dr. Roland C. Haun, KASS

Dr. David Keller, KSBA
2004 Plato Learning
2003 Dr. Blake Haselton
2002 Helen Mountjoy
2001 Tom Willis
2000 Kevin Noland
1999 Senator David Karem
1998 Joseph W. Kelly
1997 Dr. Lois Adams-Rodgers
1996 Forward in the Fifth
1995 The Partnership for KY School Reform
1994 Senator Ed Ford
1993 W.A. Franklin
1992 JCPS Gheens Academy
1991 Dr. John Brock
1990 O. Leonard Press
1989 Honorable Bert T. Combs
1988 Honorable William H. Natcher
1987 The Prichard Committee