Fred Award Past Recipients

Inspired by well-known author Mark Sanborn, the award is named in honor of Fred Shea, the subject of Sanborn’s national bestseller,The Fred Factor. The award seeks to honor an individual who exudes a Fred-like spirit of service, innovation, and commitment to others, positively influencing and impacting the lives of those in the school community.

2023  Mahlon Thomas (Bus Driver) Carlisle County Schools
2022 Danny Fugett (Custodian) Ashland Independent Schools
2021 Daniel Lyne (Custodian) Daviess County Schools
2020 Melvin Bell (Custodian) LaRue County Schools
2019 Angela Shoemaker (Custodian) Muhlenberg County Schools
2018 Rita Renfrow (Pre-K Assistant) Butler County Schools
2017 Kathy Fryman (Custodian) Augusta Independent Schools
2016 Kenny Kelley, (Bus Driver) Daviess County Schools
2015 Marvin McHenry, (Custodian) Carter County Schools
2014 Bruce Bell, (Custodian) Union County Schools
Danny Henderson (Bus Driver/Maintenance) Carlisle County Schools
Jon Foote (Volunteer Aviation Instructor) Monroe County Schools
Rick Branham (Homeless Liaison) Pike County Schools
Ronald Shoulta (Bus Driver) Paducah Independent Schools
Brenda Sorrell (Bus Driver) Montgomery County Schools
Fred Strange (Custodian) Campbell County Schools