NxG Leadership Series for Onboarding Superintendents

Best Practice, Policy and Procedure for Guiding Kentucky’s new Superintendents 
 to a successful first year and beyond.



Next Generation Superintendents


Contact Information:

Dr. Fred Carter/ Dr. Rhonda Caldwell

NxG Leadership Series for Onboarding New Superintendents

Kentucky Association of School Administrators

87 C. Michael Davenport Blvd.

Frankfort, Kentucky 40601

(502) 875-3411

Staff Support


Support provided 24/7 by your executive coach, faculty members and staff who lead the program. Their information is listed below.

Core Team

Rhonda Caldwell, CAE, Ed.D.
Executive Director
(859) 583-5652

V. Wayne Young, J.D.
Director of Compliance/General Counsel 
(859) 361-0887 


Lisa Ducker
Coordinator Support Services 

Fred Carter, Ed.D.
Director of Coaching & Mentoring 
(270) 563-3595 


Nannette Johnston
Director of Faculty & Curriculum 

Jan Lantz, Ed.D.
Coordinator Individual Learning Plans 

Jon Ballard
Human Resource Specialist

Program Advisors:        
Jesse Bacon, Ed.D.
Bullitt County Schools
Carrie Ballinger
Rockcastle County Schools
Joe Buerkley
Pendleton County Schools
Steve Carter
McCracken County Schools
Ryan Clark
Bardstown Ind. Schools 
Matthew Constant
Owensboro Ind. Schools
Traysea Moresea
Greenup County Schools 
Kirby Smith
Campbellsville Ind. Schools


Houston Barber, Ph.D. (Fayette County Asst. Superintendent)

Susan Barkley (Shelby County Finance Officer)

Jay Brewer (Dayton Independent Superintendent)

Rhonda Caldwell, CAE, Ed.D. (KASA)

Fred Carter, Ed.D. (KASA)

Nick Carter, Ed.D. (Breckinridge County Superintendent) 

Rob Clayton (Warren County Superintendent)

Nannette Johnston (KASA)

Janice Lantz, Ed.D. (KASA)

Mark Martin, Ed.D. (Meade County Superintendent)

Brenda McClain (Communications Consultant)

Matt Robbins (Daviess County Superintendent) 

Patricia Sheffer (Union County Superintendent)

Amy Thompson (Monroe County Superintendent)

Cassie Trueblood, JD (Education Professional Standards Board - EPSB)

Lu Young (University of Kentucky Professor)

Wayne Young, JD (KASA) 


Joe Buerkley 
(Pendleton County Superintendent)

Jesse Bacon 
(Bullitt County Superintendent)

Kelli Bush 
(Elizabethtown Independent Superintendent)

Amy Thompson
(Monroe County Superintendent)

Patricia Sheffer
(Union County Superintendent)

Matt Moore
(Jessamine County Superintendent)

Stephen McCauley
(Paris Independent Superintendent)

Matt Morgan 
(Grant County Superintendent)

Kirby Smith
(Campbellsville Independent Superintendent)

Tres Settle 
(Calloway County Superintendent)

Tim Spencer 
(Menifee County Superintendent)

Robin Cochran
(Washington County Superintendent)

Michael Ford
(Russell County  Superintendent)

Terrie Morgan
(Hardin County Schools) 

Doug Bechanan
(Nicholas County Schools) 

Brett Wilson
(Leslie County Schools)

Russ Tilford
(Lyon County Schools)

Mike Borchers
(Ludlow Independent Schools)


Rhonda Caldwell, CAE, Ed.D.
Director Program Development 

Rhonda Caldwell, CAE, Ed.D.
Director Program Development