Steve Kimberling
Youth Leadership in School Safety Award

The Kentucky Center for School Safety and Kentucky Association of School Administrators would like to acknowledge youth who have taken an innovative leadership role in school safety. Named in memory of school safety advocate Steve Kimberling, the Youth Leadership in School Safety Award will acknowledge how youth and adults within a school have promoted leadership and built partnerships that save lives, prevent injuries, and/or enhance a safe and positive school culture and climate.


  • The award is open to Kentucky public elementary, middle and high school students.
  • Eligible programs may include a wide range of formats such as Internet safety, mentoring, crime prevention, anti-bullying/safe driving campaigns, service learning, or community outreach events.

Award Selection, Notification, and Recognition

  • Nominations will be reviewed by a panel of judges and selected based on program content, effectiveness/impact to the school and community, and creativity.
  • Nominators will be notified of nominee’s status in mid-May.
  • Winning entries will be recognized at KASA’s annual leadership institute, July 26-28, 2017 at the Galt House Hotel in Louisville, presented a distinguished award and $1000 per grade category and recognized in KASA’s award publication, print and web publications, the KCSS website, and other appropriate media.


  • The program must reflect youth and adult partnerships.
  • Nominations must be submitted on the official application form.
  • A maximum of three additional pages of supporting materials may be submitted to enhance the application.
  • Only one nominee per school/per grade level (K-5, 6-8, 9-12) will be accepted.



Download Nomination Form Here/Submit Electronically

How to Submit Nomination

Complete the application and forward to the KASA office, along with any supporting materials (no more than three additional pages) as follows:

  • Mail to: Leadership Awards Program 87 C. Michael Davenport Blvd., Frankfort, KY 40601
  • Fax to: (502) 875-4634 (address cover sheet to Leadership Awards Program)
  • Submit electronically: complete online application and follow the instructions to submit electronically